Utopia Temple
Main Forum Page Register an Account for Free! Calendar Frequently Asked Questions about this Board View New Posts Advanced Search Login
  Utopia Temple Forums > General Discussions > Polls Heaven

View Poll Results: Women should be permitted to breastfeed...
in the pool. 4 11.11%
on the pool deck. 23 63.89%
off the pool deck (AKA Not at all). 9 25.00%
Who voted? Voters: 36
You may not vote on this poll

Post New Thread Reply
Author Thread
(18-Nov-2008 at 19:41)

Breastfeeding in the Pool

So, as some of you may or may not know (AKA: not at all), I work as a lifeguard. While this has never personally occured, recently there was an incident in Ontario where a lifeguard asked a woman breastfeeding her infant to leave the pool area. This caused a good deal of controversy, as the right to breastfeed is protected in the Ontario Constitution.

As I'm in a province without this constitutional guarantee, it's not a legal issue for me. As such, try to leave this discussion to moral/safety/health/courtesy issues.

So, to the question:

Should women be permitted to breastfeed their children in the pool?

I'll be coming in with some other considerations later on, but I want to see gut reactions first.

A bit of a sticky wicket, isn't it?

Rumours of my demise are greatly exaggerated
Do the impossible
See the invisible
ROW ROW FIGHT THE POWER
View Public Profile Visit Eltargrim's homepage Find more posts by Eltargrim Add Eltargrim to your Buddy List Reply with Quote
(18-Nov-2008 at 19:50)

Can't really see the problem.Why shouldn't woman breastfeed and in a pool of all places?

The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common; they don't alter their views to fit the facts, they alter the facts to fit the views
View Public Profile Find more posts by DHoffryn Add DHoffryn to your Buddy List Reply with Quote
(18-Nov-2008 at 21:55)